An Amazing Year of Life on the Road

welcome sign collage

April 2014 – Whidbey Island, WA
May 2014 – Orcas Island, WA
June 2014 – Seaview, WA / Astoria, OR / Puget Island, WA
July 2014 – Salem, OR / Parkdale, OR
August 2014 – Puget Island, WA (w/a little Eugene, OR / Redmond, OR / Boise, ID)
September 2014 – Hailey, ID
October 2014 – Missoula, MT
November 2014 – Coeur d’Alene, ID / Tofino, BC / Victoria, BC
December 2014 – Victoria, BC / Courtenay, BC
January 2015 – Sechelt, BC
February 2015 – Mayne Island, BC
March 2015 – Port Angeles, WA

12 months
4 states, 1 province
19 cities/towns
5 islands
20 different Airbnb accommodations
Countless new friends and memories

Along with 2 places to which I’m considering a return to settle down for a bit…
But until then, some reflection and writing while deciding which adventure is next.

By the way, as I approach this next phase of writing, I use as a guide the many interesting and thought provoking questions I’ve been asked along the way. They’ve allowed me to look at this year from a different point of view and to review things in ways that I hadn’t thought of before. It’s also been so wonderful to hear what people would want to know more about, in helping to plan an adventure of their own (which you know that I support 100%!). Please please please do ask away and tell me… just imagine that perhaps I was maybe thinking of putting this adventure into book form…what would you want to read about most?

This entry was posted in Life on the Road and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Amazing Year of Life on the Road

  1. thegreyeye says:

    pretty successful travel year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ustabe says:

    Tamara, I guess I didn’t realize that you had confined your travels primarily to the Pacific Northwest. Beautiful country – one of the best vacations I ever took was to Vancouver Island during Expo 86 in Vancouver. I’m going to have to confine my own visit to that area to something outside the winter months – camping will be a helluva lot different than airbnb. Regardless I don’t plan on making it up to that area for another 4 years, minimum.

    Aside from the questions I’ve asked before, I’d be interested in knowing something about the people you’ve encountered along the way – if you went into your trip with any preconceived notions as to who you’d run into. Their attitudes, how they view the world, etc. Maybe you didn’t get into it too deep, and that’s okay. It might just be one of my own particular drivers.

    Something I would like to accomplish during my own trip is to restore a bit of my faith in humanity. Politics has me so depressed. Arguments about guns, social services and gays; labeling or being labeled based on who you voted for; and what seems to be a general love for America but hatred for a large element of Americans have all got me questioning whether “people” have lost the ability to be kind, supportive and caring to someone else, simply because they’re a human being. I’m hoping that I’ll discover those people do not make up the majority of those who I meet. if it is, I don’t know what Frank and I will do.

    I’m really looking forward to reading whatever comes out of you next, after you’ve had a chance to take a deep breath and ruminate on what you’ve just finished.

    Take care,
    Jeff

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I want to read about everything. No help I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great year, that’s the way to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie33 says:

    What a great traveling year it has been for you! That must be so cool! x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Airbnb Adventures | THE TRAVELING RABBIT

Leave a Reply

