Favorite Spots from the Year #3: Saltery Bay to Earl’s Cove

map

No one warned me about this one. Just another little ferry ride from one place to the next.

I’ve always been well prepared for the beautiful views on any and all of these crossings, but none were anywhere near as striking as the journey from Saltery Bay to Earl’s Cove (Sunshine Coast, British Columbia, Canada).

IMG_1396 (2)    IMG_1400 (2)

I guess it was good that I arrived, as usual, hours before any other passengers. It resulted in a parking spot way up at the front of the boat and provided easily accessible, much needed shelter for the remainder of the trip. Handy, because mere minutes after the ferry took off, it became clear that I would need to be outside much of the time, as close as possible to these views. My nose nearly froze off and my fingers turned blue as I ping-ponged across the ferry platform and provided an entertaining target for the eyeballs of those sane enough to remain in their cars. But I insisted on snapping as many pictures as possible. I knew I’d never see this wonder again.

IMG_1347 (2)    IMG_1341 (2)The sun and shade and clouds and snow were so perfectly placed to perform. There’s not much to say about the views themselves that’s not portrayed right here in the pics. It was an incredible way to be welcomed to town and set the stage for a month of pure beauty. If you ever have the chance to visit this part of the world, please try desperately not to miss this crossing.

1

http://www.bcferries.com/schedules/mainland/sepr-current.php

This entry was posted in Life on the Road and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Favorite Spots from the Year #3: Saltery Bay to Earl’s Cove

  1. Spectacular. I’m homesick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

