Playful Experimentation

red sign 2

Experimentation.  Another form of rules, structure, guidelines for playing around – for trying new things…and attempting to figure out the impact of changes on your life and whether or not you want to keep them around.

It’s a way to design your life, based on truths and reality that only you can authentically assess.

Especially when you have so many ideas about what to do.  What to try.  Where to go.  I find that the structure of experimentation provides a way to conceptualize, prioritize, and focus on the millions of ideas running around in my brain.  Experimentation filters them to me one at a time, and allows me to explore each one, with some amount of discipline and patience.

I need the guidance of a game to get me going onto the path of potential change.

Without the structure, they’re just whims – quickly forgotten, immediately replaced.  If they even happen at all.

I try to come up with (and carry out) new experiments all the time.  They range from the miniscule (drink a cup of tea every night for a week) to the dramatic (live somewhere new every month for a year).  The results vary from never even tried (elimination of morning cup(s) of coffee) to instant dependency (heated yoga in the bathroom two times a week).

This year of adventure had its structure, its game that made it ripe for experimentation.  One new place every month.  How did this month compare to last?  Why did I bloom in this place more than others?  What do I want to keep, and where do I want to go back?  I asked myself a standard set of questions at the end of (most) days…they gave me time to reflect, a method for assessing, and a record to review.

Jung said “There is and can be no self-knowledge based on theoretical assumptions, for the object of self-knowledge is an individual – a relative exception and an irregular phenomena.” (The Undiscovered Self, 1957)

Be playful.  Test yourself.  Learn.  See where it takes you.

(Photo credit: ME!  7 hours after finally letting myself attempt to learn and start to play with a photo editor and confirming that, yes indeed I would become obsessed and it would take over my life…)

This entry was posted in Life on the Road and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Playful Experimentation

  1. Great post! Structure is essential for all of us though many would say it was not needed. Love your photo! Photo editing is addicting!

    Like

  2. thanks, Terri! and it’s good to know that i’m not the only one with this addiction! 🙂 have a great day!

    Like

  3. Ain't No Shrinking Violet says:

    Captivating photo…you have an artist’s eye!

    Give yourself and Stanley a hug from me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thanks Violet. you’re so sweet. Stanley and I send our best and hope you’re doing well. that reminds me…I think we need another Stanley’s Antics installment! 🙂

    Like

  5. Jessie Martinovic says:

    What a beautiful blog and warm voice you have.this is a gorgeous painting , also the bathroom yoga is an absolute revelation 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jessie – thank you so much for the very sweet compliments. that means so much to me! and i’m also just thrilled that you like the bathroom yoga idea! yeah, while i’ve been on the road – my yoga studio from home is one the key things i’ve missed! so – about an hour before i know i want to do a class, i put a space heater in the bathroom, close the door, cover the bottom with a towel and by the time i’m ready… i’ve got a nice, heated room to yoga in! i have a few classes that i’ve downloaded and just listen to on my computer. a very mobile, inexpensive way to yoga! i’ll be curious to hear if you try it and what you thinK! (though some bathrooms are just too small – hope yours works!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

